This is a long one…

I cannot wait for next semester! I’ve been reading Atonement and cleaning my desk to pass the time while I wait. I’m loving the book and my desk Buddha is finally visible again. This is good. I also intend to go through all my old clothes this week to throw out all the ones that are now too big. All of this is wonderful. Also wonderful is the weather today. Its gorgeous outside! (“When I was a child my mother told me not to look at the sun…” -Pi) I’ve been memorizing Blake and Bronte. Its a pretty good already. I spent the morning sitting in the quad reading. It was nice. Tomorrow I get to do the same thing. But I can’t wait to get into that ceramics class! Its been a long time since I made anything with my hands and I miss it. I am dying to get into that Study of Non-Western Art class. I know I’m going to love it! Its asian, islander, african, south american, etcetera. Its also an upside that I’ll be getting two gen-ed classes out of the way. I’m really excited about all of it. The classes are all super light on the reading and homework so I’ll still have time to read for myself. Which is good because I have a stack of books big enough to simulate the Great Wall of China in my bedroom. I’ve been wanting to re-read Sophie’s World. I also found a J.D. Salinger book I don’t have on amazon today.

“I think I should have no other mortal wants, if I could always have plenty of music. It seems to infuse strength into my limbs and ideas into my brain. Life seems to go on without effort, when I am filled with music.”

-George Eliot (1819 – 1880)
I am dying to sing! I’m sitting here at my desk on the gloriously sunny day listening to Sarah Bareilles and cannot sing along. This is the 10th day of my not being able to sing. My soul is craving it! Yesterday Tommy was laughing at my voice and saying, “Sing in here,” while pointing to his head. Well, its just not good enough anymore. I always thought that losing my hearing or sight would be the hardest senses to loose. Now I think the only one I could ever learn to part with is the sense of touch. But even that would really suck and I would whine. My closest friends know how much I LOVE to sing and as they feel the same, I’m sure they understand how hard this has been. I am grateful that my voice is revived enough to talk but I want to sing.

~ by Rose on 4 February 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
