Another Crazy Night at Starbucks

I sometimes call myself a bartender. Why? Because working the night shift at Starbucks means making drinks for and then listening to all the lonely people. (“All the lonely people, where do they all come from? All the lonely people, where do they all belong?) Tonight a guy sat at the end of the bar flirting with Jackie way too long. It was awkward. I tried to stay very surly when I was in his line of vision but to no avail. He eventually said, “Well, I guess I have to leave. [Pause] I can’t hang around people I don’t know.” I just stared at him. “What’s your name?” “Ha. Um… [uncomfortable shifting] Rose?” “Now I can stay.” I love working nights because there is just no telling what kind of crazy is going to be coming in. This is also why I hate it. Its fun when an old homeless lady says, “Don’t be mad at me, Baby! Everybody boo-boo” in reference to her telling me she had diarrhea. Awkward. I already tend to be awkward around people but things like this just make it harder. The stories are great though. If you ever want a good laugh, call me up and ask me about Keith. Or the drug dealers from Pierce. Good times.

~ by Rose on 21 March 2008.

One Response to “Another Crazy Night at Starbucks”

  1. OK OMG we are way too much alike! I read/sang “all the lonely people” just like that!! hehehe we need to stop sharing brain waves. :o)

Leave a Reply

 
