Being Busy and Getting Promoted

I love being busy. I love always having somewhere to be. I do not, however, enjoy being so busy that I don’t even have time to check my email once in a little over a week. If it weren’t for Monday mornings I wouldn’t ever see Bethany. I haven’t seen Anika in ages. Who knows what James is up to these days. (Okay- I actually have a pretty good idea about that- halo and work.) The only reason I see Joey is because he forces himself into my day by coming to see me at work. I’ve been putting in a lot of hours on my transfer research, so far nothing has changed: UCR or NYU. We’ll see…

My boss wants to promote me now. Now that I am so ridiculously busy and have absolutely no time, she wants to add an extra 12 hrs. of work into my week. Don’t get me wrong- I deserve the promotion, I have been working toward it for the last 2 years only to be constantly told that I am next in line. (I started asking me boss to, “define next.”) I could definitely use the pay increase. This feels out of control. I wanted it. I was working for it. Now that I could care less, now that I have basically just settled on the idea that I will get it, now that I am only a year from graduation… Now she wants to give it to me. Of course. The meeting she and I had went really well but I told her that if it comes to me or Jake- give it to Jake. He’s in a better position to take it on. I have to wait until the end of July to even begin the training so I wouldn’t be in the position until September at the earliest. By that time I will only have 9 months in the position before I would need to either quit or step down or leave when I transfer schools. I don’t think she likes that school comes first now. I don’t think she likes all the time I spend working on things for church. I’m beginning to think that she is only offering this now because she isn’t number one in my life anymore and she is trying to bring it back to that.

~ by Rose on 3 May 2008.

One Response to “Being Busy and Getting Promoted”

  1. sigh. I know how you feel. I’m starting to get obsessed with school, and it’s so hard with work. I need a better job, that pays more money, and now I could get one, but now I don’t really have time…. *sigh* And now, I don’t even know where I’m going to get the money for school…. ick. I’m moving to a prettier apartment, though. You should take a break sometime this summer and come see me…. = )

Leave a Reply

 
