Greece and Feelings of Inadequacy

I have the opportunity to go to Greece next Summer. In all honesty, I wish it were coming sooner! Here’s the problem: funding. Isn’t it always funding?! Yes, its more than a year away but $3,000 is a lot of money to save up from $0. It’s a great opportunity (this is an internship) and frankly, even if it wasn’t, I REALLY want to see Greece! So pray for me. Pray that I either manage the savings or that I when it falls through I can just say, “it wasn’t meant to be.” I need an internship, any internship but this is the dream internship- its a paid internship (but I have to pay the airfare, food, lodgings, etc.), its in my exact field of study and focus. Its just amazing.

I ran into a friend from high school the other day. It was nice to see Pedro but to be honest, it made me feel like a slacker. He is graduating in a little over a week with his bachelor’s in business and a bachelor’s in history. (Fun fact: his history focus is Classical History and mine it Classical Art History. Funny how that works out sometimes.) For the last three years he has been working some business big shots making decent money, earning respect in his field, and doing exactly what he wants. Me? I have been working at a coffee shop that leaves me exhausted at the end of the week only to have to repeat the same process, I have absolutely no respect in my field other than a professor that loves my photographic memory, I don’t actually make enough to make ends meet, and to top it all off I’ve only been working on my associates since last spring. I wouldn’t say that I hate my life because I don’t actually have one. I never see my friends, I’m always tired because I don’t sleep (my favorite thing in the whole wide world!!!), I almost never have enough money to go see a movie. Mondays are my break. My boss thankfully doesn’t need me that day so I go hang out with some of women from church while serving the church and then come home and sleep all day. I’m applying for financial aid and not touching it so that when I’m going to a real school I can quit my job and focus more on school.

To my friends- I promise I still love you! Call me anytime. Talking on the phone fits better into my schedule than getting dressed to go out. Joey- I can’t wait till the 21st! We are going to have so much fun! Bethany- At least we always have Mondays!

~ by Rose on 4 May 2008.

One Response to “Greece and Feelings of Inadequacy”

  1. *sigh* i know, i know, i know….

Leave a Reply

 
