American Obsession

The other day we were talking about what America loves in my art history class. My professor reminded us of a quote that basically says America loves media- just look at our magazine racks. We love celebrities, scandals, money, sex, and gadgets. Further proof of this- of all my blog posts the ones with the highest views are Heath Ledger’s death. Coming in second (and about 3,000 views behind) is my post about Oxford. Why do we care so much about the lives of people we will never meet? My reasoning for writing about Heath Ledger’s death was because a- He was only a few years older than me. 28 to my 21. b- because his career was just kicking off. No more entertainment from him. While I am sad for his family having to deal with his death and the fact that his life has been lost (I make the same mistake all time- taking my morning meds, forgetting and taking them again…) completely by accident. I just don’t understand why people care so much about the lives of celebrities. I cannot for the life of me, tell you who Jessica Simpson is dating, how many kids Sienna Miller has, or any other personal details about the lives of famous people. I don’t care. If Nicole Kidman buys a house for $50 million how will affect me? How will it affect you? If Ashlee Simpson gets drunk at McDonald’s again, does it change your life? Not in the slightest! LIVE YOUR LIFE! REACH YOUR POTENTIAL! STOP WORRYING ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE!!! I just don’t understand how it matters. In the time it takes you to read an article about one celebrity- you could have actually learned something useful for your life, had coffee with a friend, or registered to vote (I know some of you guys still need to do that!). It just frustrates me that this is the world we live in: a world where we think Nicole Kidman’s life is more important than our own.

I love what Andy Warhol had to say about it: “What’s great about this country is that America started the tradition where the richest consumers buy essentially the same things as the poorest.”

~ by Rose on 4 September 2008.

2 Responses to “American Obsession”

  1. Well I do care & there’s nothing wrong with that. Some people need that escapism, its not like we’re doing drugs or something illegal. I’m more bothered by people like you that act all high and mighty about it.

  2. All I’m saying is that I think its unhealthy to use someone else’s life to escape from your own. I’m high and mighty I just don’t understand it.

Leave a Reply

 
