Today in History

Today in 1872 Susan B. Anthony was fined $100 for trying to vote. We’ve come a long way in the last 136 years. Yesterday, after my mom got off work, she and I went to lunch and then went to the polls to vote. All of the volunteers there to help were women. No one called the police when I gave my address, told the lady I wanted to vote electronically, and walked toward the booth. No one arrested me for casting my vote and returning my ballot. I was not fined, arrested, asked to leave, or anything else of that nature. I also knew that if any of the men there had hit me or harrassed me, I would have full legal right to press charges against him and no one would say I deserved it. Not so for those women 136 years ago. If their husbands, fathers, brothers beat them for disobeying and going to the polls, no one cared. They had no right to say anything or do anything about abusive husbands. Thank God for the 19th ammendment!

And a word about Barack Obama’s election. I thank God that our country has changed enough in the last 40 years (since the Civil Rights movement of the 1960s) that a black man can not only run for public office- he can become President!

(And really- I thank God for all the ammendments!)

~ by Rose on 5 November 2008.

One Response to “Today in History”

  1. amen!! on all accounts. I do however wish it would have been a different black man elected. I have no issues with the fact he’s black its that he’s rotten! but that’s a whole nother topic.

Leave a Reply

 
