Looking for something to write about…

Since I haven’t been quite as busy lately, not very many interesting things have happened to me. I’ve been wanting to write for days now but I was struggling with something to write about. Today I found it in the news feed on my Yahoo! homepage. Twilight.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about then you probably live under a rock. Do not mistake me! I have not read any of the books in this series (nor have I purchased them and just left them unattended). Twilight is a series of novels by Stephanie Meyer accounting the relationship between a normal girl and her vampire boyfriend. Lately it seems that every girl I know under the age of 20 is in love with these books. I don’t get it. I haven’t read them but there are so many other vampire love stories out there that it hardly seems worth it. Well, now a movie version is coming out. A few months ago Natali and I were talking about it and just before that I had talked to Rachel about all this Twilight mania. We don’t get it. But nevertheless, people seem to love it. I found an article today (or rather- Yahoo! gave it to me) about it being a cliched love story. From what I hear and what I see on movie previews, I have to agree.My favorite line from the articles I read was, “Meyer’s ‘Twilight Saga’ is light on bloodsucking lore, heavy on high-school humdrum.”

Here are the links to the articles.

http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2008/12/twilight200812

http://features.csmonitor.com/books/2008/11/11/why-twilight-fascinates-todays-teens/

~ by Rose on 11 November 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
