Why I Like Going Places to Work

Am I the only person who has trouble working at home? Either I wind up feeling lazy and just watch t.v. or I decide it’s finally time to clean the whole house with a toothbrush. So I go leave the house to get work done.

Normally I go to Starbucks because there’s one just down the street from my house. Lately, however, I’ve been getting bored with that and have been hanging out at Borders. I’m not really sure why I suddenly wanted to study at Borders all the time but I think this choice was God-inspired! Not only do I sometimes see my favorite Physics Professor/Book pusher (Diana) but I run into people at the cafe. This last week I’ve run into Rob Vis twice.

Today we started chatting about the Favor of God Ministries. I want to take a moment to tell you all (whoever still reads this) about this wonderful ministry. Favor of God (found at favorofgod.org) seeks to help not only the spirit but the whole person, holistic ministry. I think this revolutionary! When I was a kid my church constantly brought in missionaries to talk about their work abroad and all they ever talked about was Christian Salvation. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for it; after all, Christ did tell us to go into all the world and preach the gospel. My only hang up has always been, what about the rest? Caring for the soul is great, but we are to take care of one another in every way we can; physical, emotional, and economic needs are also highly important. Christ also charged us to care for widows, the fatherless children, the poor. He also commands us to care for one another in community. What better way to improve community between nations than by helping them out in anyway you can. Favor of God helps with HIV prevention, trauma counseling, and even help to set up agriculture so that the people will be able to help themselves.

So if you have two minutes to spare (it won’t kill you guys to just not play facebook games today) go check out the website at favorofgod.org

Let me know what you think of it!

~ by Rose on 15 October 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
